Welcome New Quilt Blog Hoppers!

Thank you so much, Beth from Plum and June for organizing the hop.  I have had so much fun exploring everyone’s blogs and learning their blogging and quilting tips.  I love quilting and have been quilting for roughly 26 years, with time off for children and travel.  I turned ‘pro’ two years ago when I purchased ‘Sven’, my beautiful teal Statler Stitcher.  I love to longarm quilt and will happily quilt all day and into the night for my clients.  In addition to longarm quilting, I appraise quilts professionally.  I also love to design quilts, and thanks to Quilt design a day (Qdad) I have been turning out 2 quilt designs every day and I have just earned my 60 day badge.

60 day badge

I use EQ7 to design and my first tutorial was about designing with EQ7.  Here are some of my designs from the month of June:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My quilting tip is to learn something new everyday, it can be something small or something large.  Each new technique you learn will help you in the future, often in unpredictable ways.  Learning about quilt history will expose you to beautiful quilts and give you ideas to incorporate into the quilts you are sewing today.  Every mistake I make, teaches me something new or teaches me to pay attention to something I learned before.  Learning keeps me interested even when I am doing tedious work.   I decided that this year will be the ‘year of the binding’.  I am working hard at improving my bindings and you will see tutorials on bindings throughout the year. In between designing and learning I actually find time to make my own quilts.  This year my big ‘finish’ was Pie in the sky, by Kim Diehl. www.lovelliquilts.wordpress.com 051514Pie in the sky 5 I’m still working on my Improv Log Cabin which I started in April during a class by the delightful Jacquie Gering. 050614Elli log cabin 3 050614Elli log cabin 2_2 I started blogging by reading as many blogs as I could.  I figured out what I liked and what I liked more.  I’m still a work in progress.  My blogging tip is to write posts ahead of time and schedule them.  I started blogging by just jumping in and writing with the lofty goal of writing two posts per week.  Then life intervened (doesn’t it always?, lol.)  I’m still working at having blogs prepared in advance. There are always new and upcoming blogs.  This year, the New Quilt Blog Hop has four dates, June  4th, June 11th, July 9th and July 16th.  On each of those dates there are two groups of bloggers, with each blogger linking to the other group.  Have fun, explore, and learn something new by visiting them, here are some of the bloggers participating today:

Sharon @ Fabrics and Flowers

 Serena @ Sew Giving

 Carmit @ Quilting Rainbows

 Jehn @ Jehnny And The Boys

 Jenny @ Jack’s Room

 Deborah @ Sunshine Through The Rain

 Jennifer @ A Quarter Inch From The Edge

 Jane @ Where Jane Creates

 Carla @ Granny Maud’s Girl

 

Have a quilty day!

lovelliquilts.wordpress.com

28 thoughts on “Welcome New Quilt Blog Hoppers!

  1. Oh I love your Pie in the Sky quilt! What a great mix of prints! Was it a collection or just scraps?

    I schedule posts also. Sometimes I only feel like sitting on the computer wasting the day away so it gives me a chance to write a couple of blog posts that I can set for a couple of weeks. Other days I have a million things to do and can’t write up a post, so it’s nice to know my blog is still “going” and I don’t have to sit in front of it the whole time to make it work 🙂

  2. I love the bright colors in the Improv Log Cabin, and how cool to get to take a class from Jacquie! I have really enjoyed seeing your designs through the blog hop, and I hope you get to make a few of them.

  3. The QDAD idea is fantastic! I’ve seen some other people’s designs as well, and they’re always so creative! Makes me want to get EQ7!!

  4. I can’t believe you do two quilt designs a day! That’s great to push yourself to get creative and come up with new ideas. I love your pie in the sky quilt. Nice to meet you!

  5. Visiting from Plum and June’s Blog Hop. Nice to meet you! I have been scheduling a lot lately too. It is hard not to post everyday as I have SOOOOOO much to say, LOL!!! Carole @ From My Carolina Home

  6. Love your QDAD’s! I keep looking at them on FB and think how would you pick what to make? There are so many really cool designs,

  7. Late visit on the blog hop, I’m just catching up! You make beautiful quilts and your photo slide show is great. Scheduling blog posts sounds like a great idea, I’m never that organised or ahead of myself to get it done, but maybe some day!

  8. Isn’t EQ7 addictive? I could sit there all day and color then recolor the quilt patterns I’ve designed. Congratulations on getting your 60 day badge – that’s some commitment! So nice of you to include a slide show – I’m almost to the end of all the people in the hop and this is the first one I’ve seen! 🙂

Leave a comment